Rule question regarding score sheets at tournaments

I have never been to a tournament and have a question regarding score sheets. I was told that I am allowed to write the away score (e.g. 5-away / 3-away) on my score sheet instead of the current score of each player.

Am I allowed to have any other markings/annotations on the sheet as well? For example, can I draw a line under the Crawford result so that it is clear that we are post-Crawford? Or put an asterisk next to a particular game/score? Just curious.

I looked through the (USBGF) rules and it wasn’t clear to me what is/isn’t allowed.

Both players should keep their own running, written
score. Absent evidence to the contrary in a scoring
dispute, if only one player has kept a written score,
then it shall prevail; otherwise, the trailer’s scorecard
shall prevail. All scoring errors must be corrected when
noticed, even if previously agreed by both players.

Players must not use any aids or devices during a
match, except to keep score and time and as desired to
record the match or positions. Headphones are
allowed, subject to TD review. Non-passive recording
must occur on the player’s clock.

I think there’s a good argument that a line or asterisk falls under “keeping score.” Much beyond that starts looking like an “aid.” And if a line is technically not allowed, no one would ever call you on that.
Look at playing with two hands. It’s illegal and I tend to be a stickler about it because it often causes confusion or unfairly saves clock time. However, nearly everyone does it.


I agree, putting a checkmark, asterisk or a line on the scoresheet to remind you to check a move or cube during that particular game does not give you an advantage after the fact. As a TD, I would never rule against a player for doing that.

I remember the first tourney I was ever a TD. I was called to a table where Player A complained about Player B writing something on a notepad after each play. After investigating, I discovered that Player B was annotating the match and after each move he was writing down the play. Again, no advantage or disadvantage to either player so play on. I might add that Player B was writing while his clock was running so he was using up his own time.

I agree with David about only using one hand. Two hands not only causes confusion when trying to watch someone move the checkers correctly, it also saves a lot of clock time which can come into play at the end of a match.

Cool deal. I was for awhile (at home against XG) circling the sensitive away scores like 2-away and 4-away. I no longer feel the need to do this but I still underline the Crawford game ¯\_(ツ)_/¯.

Also, one hand for sure! When someone uses two hands even on stream it makes me uncomfortable (this and picking up the dice before the opponent hits the clock…). My kids will use two hands and it ends up at times confusing even them :upside_down_face:.

Look at playing with two hands. It’s illegal and I tend to be a stickler about it because it often causes confusion or unfairly saves clock time. However, nearly everyone does it.

@davidklausa, I imagine this can be awkward to bring up in person… in general, how do people react when you ask/remind them to use only one hand?

Simply transcribing onto paper has always been legal. I think Sebastian Wilkinson was the last person I saw doing it. And maybe Jason Lee. Magriel had an assistant to do it for him. Since the introduction of clocks, there’s really no grounds to complain, as the opponent is just using their own time.

Yes, it is awkward to broach the one hand rule while playing. Most decent players respond by acknowledging the rule and saying they’ll try. Some people keep doing it anyway and I keep reminding them, and threaten to get a TD on the third time. That usually fixes it, but some people just can’t break their habit. Many don’t know it’s a rule - I’ve had to get a TD to explain it to my opponent more than once.

Some score sheets have indicators for the Crawford game. Personally I write a “C” on the scoring line for the Crawford game.

All of that is legal because it serves the purpose of score keeping. Strictly speaking, any other marks on the sheet aren’t. That said, I can’t imagine anyone complaining about an asterisk.